This week I had the pleasure of getting in touch with my inner child as I had the privilege to be able to finger paint for a homework assignment. The last time that I remember finger painting was in the 3rd grade when we had made a dinosaur out of our hand using paint, I remember painting a stegosaurus and I had my fingers be the different spines.

This assignment has by far been my favorite to complete, because there were no rules, we could paint what we wanted and we were able to let loose and paint what we liked. I wouldn’t say that it was inspiring however it was more so creative to be able to paint what we liked without guidelines. We could let our minds wander and we watched as our hands dipped in the paint and danced across the page making the most intricate designs. Upon completing this assignment it was different than what I had originally expected. The assignment was oddly relaxing and fun to do, the only problem was the fact that we had to clean up the paint.

For the piece itself I was however frustrated for how long the paint had taken to dry, I was thinking that I would be able to mix colours however the paint would dry almost instantaneously. So as I continued to paint I realized that in order to mix colours I needed to put an excessive amount of paint on the piece of paper or I needed to dip multiple fingers inside the paint.  I did my project with Mark De Artola and we were laughing as we continued to paint on the second floor of the library in the children’s area. Each sowing the other what we had created, and we were both surprised to see how different our pieces were in consideration to each others.

When comparing this work to others that I have seen I definitely would call this more so disorganized and childlike than that of professional artists. However the vibrant colours gave the painting warmth and was almost an entrance to spring. This painting had created new colours as the neon colors had all mixed together. The lines flowed there was no organization to the strokes, each one varied in length and width and brightness of the paint, all working together to make the piece.

